TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Prosecutor or Attorney?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Prosecutor or Attorney? Login/Join 
posted

Question:
Friday afternoon poll time.

When traveling out of the country I suspect most Texans identify themselves as Texans first, and Americans second. That's what I do. Similarly, when others ask what I do for a living, I always say I am a prosecutor or assistant district attorney. I don't say I am an attorney.

When asked, "What do you do?" How do you respond?

Choices:
I'm a prosecutor (or district/county attorney).
I'm an attorney.
I work for the government.
You know the TV show "Law & Order?" I'm the lawyer part of that show, who stands up in the courtroom and says, "Find him guilty!"

Posts: 200 | Registered: January 31, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Administrator
posted Hide Post
9-0 for Answer #1 so far.

Isn't that interesting?

Posts: 2425 | Location: TDCAA | Registered: March 08, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Of course, there are occasions when the real answer is best not given. For instance, in less convivial company, I have said that I interview, research, write, and argue. Most hearing that response seem to think I'm some sort of teacher.

JAS

Posts: 586 | Location: Denton,TX | Registered: January 08, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Actually, I usually respond with, "You know that guy on Law and Order? Yeah, I'm not him. I'm the guy back at the office who bangs his head against the wall when people tell me what dumb-ass thing Jack McCoy just did. Then, I try to figure out a way to keep the bad guy in jail."

Or, I say, "If Top Gun were about lawyers, I'd be Goose."

[This message was edited by David Newell on 10-17-08 at .]

Posts: 1243 | Location: houston, texas, u.s.a. | Registered: October 19, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Goose was very cool. Smile

JAS