TDCAA Community
CHAIN OF CUSTODY BY MAILING TO DPS LAB?

This topic can be found at:
https://tdcaa.infopop.net/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/157098965/m/292108033

July 10, 2005, 11:52
Bobby
CHAIN OF CUSTODY BY MAILING TO DPS LAB?
I AM AN OFFICER TAKING OVER A CID UNIT AND NOTICED THAT DRUG EVIDENCE FROM MY AGENCY IS BEING MAILED TO THE DPS LAB. THIS TO ME SEEMS LIKE A PROBLEM DUE TO CHAIN OF CUSTODY ISSUES IN COURT. I WAS WONDERING HAS ANYONE LOST CASES BECAUSE DRUG EVIDENCE WAS MAILED VERSUS BEING DRIVEN TO THE DPS LAB? IF YOU HAVE TELL ME ABOUT IT IN DETAIL PLEASE, SO I CAN DISCUSS THIS WITH MY ADMINISTRATION.

THANKS
July 11, 2005, 13:56
Martin Peterson
Use of the U.S. mail does not seem to raise any issue as to tampering or alteration, and thus at most you are talking about a minor theoretical breach in the chain of custody, not something that should present any problem. See Hall, 13 S.W.3d at 120-1.
July 18, 2005, 13:32
James