TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Yates gets new trial
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Yates gets new trial Login/Join 
<Kevin Landtroop>
posted
The First COA reversed Andrea Yates' capital murder conviction and remanded for a new trial. The jury may have been influenced by Dietz's false "Law and Order" testimony--admission of the testimony affected "substantial rights."

Let the griping begin!

Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Geez.

Posts: 95 | Location: Austin, TX | Registered: September 23, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Gosh, for something that isn't remarkable, everyone seems to be talking about it. While I agree in the grand scheme of things that it may not be the most earth-shattering case, I am just as appalled as the rest that a expert, whether defense or state, makes such an outright lie. I've been an attorney a while, both prosecuting and defense, and I have never seen such a bold lie. What could that 'expert' possibly have said in his defense when confronted by the truth? I think the court was right, his statements had the possibility and probability of impacting the jury's decision. I think all of us, on both sides, want cleaner experts than that. I hope he wasn't paid by the county coffers, and if so, I hope he is billed for all the appellate time he has put the DA, Defense Attorney and Court of Appeals through.

Posts: 319 | Location: Midland, TX | Registered: January 09, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post