TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    DWI-child passenger
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

DWI-child passenger Login/Join 
posted
I need some prosecutor help. I am not a prosecutor, so when it comes to charging issues, I'm out of my league. I had a call from a HP sergeant who wants to know whether a driver who had more than one child passenger under the age of 15 in the vehicle when the driver is arrested for DWI can be charged for each passenger (i.e. three charges under 49.045) or only one charge encompassing all three passengers?

I think this is one of those FYI things that Sergeants like to know. Help will be appreciated.

Janette A

Posts: 674 | Location: Austin, Texas, United States | Registered: March 28, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
An interesting question. If the crime described a victim of a physical injury or threat of injury (e.g., intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter, robbery), the law clearly permits a separate charge for each victim. For the child, though, there is no separate, identifiable injury that would justify separate charges.

Of course, you could describe the separate theoretical danger involved with each child. However, the offense isn't written to specifically identify that sort of possible injury.

The answer comes down to whether the Legislature intended separate offenses. Locally, we have decided that there is only one crime with the child being an enhancing element that can be pled in the alternative with multiple children.

There is no case law answer yet.

Posts: 7860 | Location: Georgetown, Texas | Registered: January 25, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Thanks. That is what I suspected, but I wanted to ask the experts. I will let the Sergeant know.

Janette A

Posts: 674 | Location: Austin, Texas, United States | Registered: March 28, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post