TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    LEADRS - yes or no?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

LEADRS - yes or no? Login/Join 
posted
We have a PD Sgt. who is pushing their new chief pretty hard on adopting the LEADRS system. My initial view of the system is pretty dim, but I wanted to see what the opinion was in the offices that have actually used it. Is it worth implementing or not?

Posts: 62 | Location: Lubbock, TX | Registered: November 20, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Tom,

Why the dim view? I have been using LEADRS since its creation in 2003. It is a great system and many, many Troopers, Deputies and Police officers across the state use it. In fact, TMPA has been tasked with creating the same type of system for several other states and that number grows yearly.

One of, if not the greatest deterent to DWI enforcement, from an officer's perspective is not the lack of ability to gather evidence but the redundant, excessive paperwork that goes along with it. LEADRS cuts the necessity to do redundant paperwork way down and it cuts reporting down at much at 60%. Less time spent filling out paperwork means more time on the street and increased officer safety.

If you have questions about LEADRS, please contact me off-list and I will gladly answer your questions and/or put you in contact with the LEADRS team at TMPA.

Posts: 30 | Location: Austin,Williamson County, Texas | Registered: August 13, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Administrator
posted Hide Post

Posts: 2425 | Location: TDCAA | Registered: March 08, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I like it when reviewing cases because everything is usually in the same place so I can go straight to the page with what I want to check.

The officers here have used it for a while now, and most seem to like it, but I don't think it cuts down as much on the time for paperwork as they originally thought (but seems to reduce the time, to some extent).