TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Search Warrant vs. Search and Arrest Warrant
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Search Warrant vs. Search and Arrest Warrant Login/Join 
posted
Hello Everyone,

Long time reader, but first time poster. I'm a Texas peace officer who is having a disagreement with a supervisor about a legal issue, and I was hoping someone could help me out.

I'll start off with the scenario. Officers are dispatched to a report of kids smoking marijuana in an apartment. Officers arrive at scene, resident consents to officers entering, officers smell strong odor of burnt marijuana, and secure the residence to obtain a search warrant after the residents refuse to consent to a search of the apartment. No contraband is found in plain view. This is a college campus, so not all of the residents are friends or roommates by choice, and some of them are probably not involved with the marijuana usage.

In this instance I think that an officer should obtain a search warrant for the property and all persons found inside. Say during the execution of a search warrant marijuana is found in a drawer in one of the resident's rooms (the resident is present in the apartment), then that would be on-view possession of marijuana, and a warrantless arrest would be authorized under Art. 14.01 TX CCP to place the suspect under arrest.

However, my supervisor contends that unless you obtain a search and arrest warrant under Art. 18.03 TX CCP, you cannot arrest anyone for any narcotics you might find.

This confuses me because I thought the standard for obtaining an arrest warrant that is attached to a search warrant under Art. 18.03 was the same probable cause standard to obtain an arrest warrant completely separate from a search warrant.