TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Advice for a law student??
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Advice for a law student?? Login/Join 
posted
Hello,

I am a 3rd year law student trying to find a job as a prosecutor in Texas. I will be taking the bar in July. I have done well in school, and my resume is very tailored toward a career in criminal law. My difficulties lie as follows. I am having trouble getting into the field, I think partly because I attend school at the Univ. of Florida. My questions are these:

1. Do any DA offices hire now and �hold a job� for you when you graduate (like larger firms do)?
2. What is the best way to get into the field?

If anyone would like to talk with me about this, fell free to email me.

Any Advice??

Thanks in advance,

Hunter
hab145@aol.com

Posts: 8 | Location: Collin County | Registered: October 21, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Most DA's offices don't have the resources to hire unlicensed folks. I think Harris County (that's Houston) does some on campus interviewing, and therefore presumably hires prior to licensing. Dallas County doesn't do on-campus stuff, but they hire a few prior to licensing. These offices also have unpaid intern programs, where they presumably find plenty of recruits after licensing. The ones that are hired prior to licensing get temporary bar cards, but flunk the test and you probably have no job.

A lot of places will interview you prior to licensing. Somewhere on this site you can probably order the book that has address and contact info for all the DA's offices in Texas.

So, if this is where you want to live, move here after graduation, Take BarBri, send out some resumes, and good luck to you.

Posts: 90 | Registered: August 16, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I would think it would be hard to get a job in Texas with a DA's office until you have a Texas bar card.