TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Corroboration, Cowobboration
Page 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 18
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Corroboration, Cowobboration Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
Shannon, first of all, give yourself a TDCAA hat for that one. Secondly, did the defendant have one of those "I Brake for ________" bumper stickers? And if so, what would go in the blank?

Posts: 374 | Location: Houston, TX | Registered: July 25, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
How about when those assault defendants grab the victims' throat and chock them?

Posts: 95 | Location: Austin, TX | Registered: September 23, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Yeah, but as a former pilot, I know that a chock is a piece of wood used to brace aircraft tires. (Usually a substantial piece of wood.) So, I just figure they got 'em by the throat and are applying the "chock" about the victim's person.

Posts: 956 | Location: Cherokee County, Rusk, Tx | Registered: July 11, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
In following Shannon Edmonds' attempt to keep this thread alive, I have to share the strangest writ application of my career.

The defendant, Bruce Albert Kirk, claimed in his writ application that the trial court had "arbitrarily re-named" him without his consent to "William T. Kirk." He reasoned that since his cases styled William T. Kirk v. The State of Texas had been reversed due to insufficent evidence, presumably due to his status as a citizen of the United Federation of Planets and not of the great State of Texas, he was being illegally confined under his true name, Bruce. His claim was completely without factual support and was denied; however, I'm sure the significance of the name change will not be lost to all those Trekkies out there.

As an aside, how many of you got the Trivial Pursuit question right about what the "T" stands for in Captain Kirk's name?...right!...Tiberius.