Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Previous jobs Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
The calling jobs are the worst. The very worst. I'd rather clean toilets (and have happily done so).

Posts: 2137 | Location: McKinney, Texas, USA | Registered: February 15, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
During my four hour career selling AAA auto policies, I sold one, only because I diverged from the horrible script they were using. The job was mindnumbingly boring, but like many other jobs, if I had to do it for a living I could.

What ran me off from the job was the moron sharing my cubicle with me. He was a twenty-something GED hippy who was nice enough but drove me crazy talking about his recent trip with his girlfriend and her parents to "Lake San Rayborn".

Although I was in high school, I knew who Sam Rayburn was and that the famous Texas Congressman had a lake named after him. I asked my cube neighbor at one point if he didn't remember learning in school about Sam Rayburn, and he muttered something about that question not being on the GED exam he took.

I spent a large part of the down time of my four hour shift telling my cubicle neighbor that the name of the lake was SAM and not San. I don't think he believed me, as my final memory of that job is seeing my neighbor drawing a picture of a lake camping scene with the name "San Rayborn" underneath, as he recited the sales script to his callers.

Posts: 2578 | Location: The Great State of Texas | Registered: December 26, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Ooh, I almost forgot. In my first year of law school I wanted some extra money so I delievered phone books for about 3 days! The worst part was loading up my jeep by myself with about 2500 pounds of phone books and delivering them on doorsteps for about $80 in the end.