TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Defense of Third Person-Looking for a case
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Defense of Third Person-Looking for a case Login/Join 
posted
Thug 1 hits victim with his fist, all testimony is that hit is unprovoked. Thug 2 then hits victim in the head with a weapon. Some testimony that when Thug 1 hits victim, others (not victim) jump on Thug 1. Thug 2s "defense" seems to be that he was defending Thug 1 when he hit victim with said weapon. I've found In Re D.O. and Hughes, but surely there has got to be a case out there that says you don't get a defense of third party when the third party provoked the initial assault !! Any help greatly appreciated. I argue the charge tomorrow mid-morning.

[This message was edited by Stacey L. Brownlee on 03-25-08 at .]

Posts: 641 | Location: Longview, Texas | Registered: October 10, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
First off I'm not a lawyer so you probably don't want my opinion except perhaps as a window into the mind of a potential juror... That said:

9.33 allows you to defend a third person under circumstances that you would be able defend yourself under 9.31.

But 9.31 excludes provocation from self defense

9.31.  SELF-DEFENSE.  
(a)  Except as provided in Subsection (b), a 
  person is justified in using force against 
  another when and to the degree the actor 
  reasonably believes the force is immediately 
  necessary to protect the actor against the 
  other's use or attempted use of unlawful force.  
  The actor's belief that the force was immediately 
  necessary as described by this subsection is 
  presumed to be reasonable if the actor:
  (1)  knew or had reason to believe [... snip ...]
  (2)  did not provoke the person against whom 
       the force was used; and        
  (3)  was not otherwise engaged in criminal 
       activity, other than a Class C misdemeanor 
       that is a violation of a law or ordinance