TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Civil matter?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Civil matter? Login/Join 
posted
Hello everyone, to quote another member, long-time listener, first-time caller. I am an intake attorney here at the DA's in Corpus Christi with a puzzler and wanted to get some feedback. Here goes:

Victim is a president of Acme Company who bought a house from Suspect on behalf of Victim's company. Previously the house was in poor condition and repairs cost $30K to make it habitable. After repair, Suspect's children contacted Victim's company and claimed an interest. The kicker is: According to Victim, due to Suspect's divorce he only retained a life estate but...sold the property under general warranty deed.

Victim's company Acme received a title policy from Quality-Corp. for the purchase price. Quality tries to get Suspect to cure the title but Suspect's kids want $69K to do so. Quality pays Acme the face amount of the policy and "walks away."

Victim's bottom line is that his company Acme bought and repaired the property and has been harmed by Suspect for the costs incurred for the repairs. Is this a civil or criminal act on the part of Suspect? Specifically, I am looking at PC 32.46, Securing Execution of Document by Deception, i.e., was Suspect deceptive in causing the sale of the property knowing that he only retained a life interest?

Really would appreciate any feedback. - Jason

Posts: 4 | Registered: September 13, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
You may have a theft case depending on what representations were made by the seller. To determine the amount of the theft, you have to determine the value of the life estate versus what was paid for the house.

Posts: 1029 | Location: Fort Worth, TX | Registered: June 25, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post