TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    BWI anyone?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

BWI anyone? Login/Join 
posted
I'm trying a BWI next week (yes, that's BWI not DWI) and wondering if anyone else has ever tried one. I've found a few differences from DWI, but wonder if there's anything that will sneak up on me.

Thanks!
Sherri

Posts: 7 | Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA | Registered: February 27, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm not a lawyer but I watched one of these where the arresting officers were Game Wardens.

I don't have a copy of Parks & Wildlife handy but I believe that Game Wardens do not need any reason at all to stop a boat on a lake.

Also be aware that many potential jurors will have a strong bias against Game Wardens...

Obviously the One Leg Stand and the Walk & Turn would be next to impossible to administer on a boat... so he will need to be on land to do the SFST... also they should let him have 10 - 15 minutes to re-adjust to being on solid ground before doing these balance tests... especially if he had been on the water all day.

Don't let the defense prevent you from using a Warden as an expert, they have the same SFST training that DPS guys have... they can even become "practitioners" if they issue enough BWIs! Don't worry if your guy isn't a practitioner, he can still be an expert because of his experience and training. The "practitioner" label is very much akin to board certification for attorneys; obviously you can be an attorney without it!

Posts: 689 | Registered: March 01, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post