TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Re: Passwords
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Passwords Login/Join 
posted
In order to post on the User Forum, you still have to register, then log in and enter a password. I think I understand the impetus behind Martin Peterson's poll on requiring a password to access the forum. However, if the idea is to avoid having criminal defense attorneys and the public in general reading the messages or joining and posting queries, wouldn't the solution be to require that to enter and use the User Forum, you must be a member or associate member of TDCAA? I am not a prosecutor; I am a Senior Assistant General Counsel for the Texas Department of Public Safety and an associate member of TDCAA. However, I teach arrest, search & seizure, DWI law, etc. to our troopers, and answer a wide variety of criminal procedure and penal code questions from the troops. The User Forum has been an invaluable resource tool for me, and I would sincerely hate to lose it!

Just a thought,

Janette Ansolabehere

Posts: 674 | Location: Austin, Texas, United States | Registered: March 28, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Janette, the idea behind using a password is to limit access or exclude certain people, but a separate decision would have to be made on who to include in the user group or how to disseminate the password. So far, I would say there is enough resistance to the idea that it probably will not be implemented. But, I would certainly consider you an "indirect prosecutor" who shares the same interests as those of us more directly involved and thus would hope that you and others of the same ilk would continue to have access.