TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Is no locale in this state immune from heinous crime?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Is no locale in this state immune from heinous crime? Login/Join 
posted
Although I am a veteran prosecutor, even I sometimes am surprised by the heinous and senseless nature of some crimes.

Of all the places one could work as a convenience store clerk without fear of being killed simply for trying to support one's family, I would think Scotland, Texas would be near the top of the list. I've never been to this town of 500 people, but as a native Texan, I've been to many towns like it. And as a prosecutor, I like to think that the people in these small towns get to live life without some of the fears of falling victim to violent crime that plague those of us who live in larger towns and cities.

And some critics wonder why the school board of a tiny Texas school district voted last week to allow properly qualified teachers to carry concealed weapons on the job...

On Friday, in a small town in North Texas called Scotland, the kind of place one hardly expects an aggravated robbery and abduction and likely murder of a convenience store clerk to occur, the abduction of a young woman named Mindy was filmed. In the Fort Worth paper today, the authorities announce they believe they have found her body.

Our work as prosecutors in fighting violent crime by locking up, for as long as possible, violent criminals, has never been more important than it is today.

"DALLAS -- A man suspected in the videotaped abduction of a Texas grocery store clerk led investigators Saturday to a body about 50 miles from the small town where the woman went missing, authorities said.

Mindy Daffern, 46, has been missing since Friday, when surveillance footage last showed her being confronted at gunpoint by an unmasked man who walked the clerk outside the north Texas store.