TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    "Notary" Versus "Peace Officer"
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

"Notary" Versus "Peace Officer" Login/Join 
posted
I am a peace officer and a notary. For purposes of taking statements in my profession, is there any difference in the net effect of a statement "sworn to" before me as a peace officer versus me as a notary?

In other words, if I verify the identity of the person from whom I take the statement (regardless if they are victim, witness, or suspect) does it matter if the statement shows me as a peace officer versus a notary? If so, what are the legal consequences of one over the other? Thank you in advance for any guidance.

CRJ

Posts: 46 | Location: Seguin, TX, USA | Registered: April 02, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I was a notary once, and I seem to recall a rule that the notary shouldn't notarize if s/he had any interest in the resulting statement (e.g., I couldn't notarize for family if I was benefitting, I couldn't notarize documents for the DA's office because I would then potentially be a witness if I had to prove up the statement, but also because I was not in a "neutral" role). I would probably steer clear of notarizing statements for fear of any possible cross-examination on the law enforcement "influence" in your "neutral" role as notary. That's just my take.

Posts: 1089 | Location: UNT Dallas | Registered: June 29, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Of course, your staff are not in the same position as yourself, and can notarize, just as defense attorneys use their staff to notarize affidavits of their witnesses.

Posts: 1089 | Location: UNT Dallas | Registered: June 29, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post