TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Burning question...
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Burning question... Login/Join 
posted
I have always believed that, with a very few exceptions, no one can grant permission to violate the law. I have preached this to my County Commissioners, that when they pass a burn ban, neither a commissioner, a pair of commissioners nor the County Judge have the authority to allow a burn.

Am I off base here? Is there something in the convoluted burn ban statutes that I'm not seeing?

The reason for burning is that, since there was a little rain, ranchers want to burn off brush to curtail fire danger - I see that, and am aware of my discretion when it comes to prosecuting it, but - can permission be granted?

Lisa L. Peterson
Nolan County Attorney

Posts: 736 | Location: Sweetwater TX | Registered: January 30, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Lisa, I'm no expert on this, but could the burn ban ordinance be phrased to allow someone--the County Judge--to have the authority to temporarily lift the burn ban under certain conditions, such as within so many hours of substantial rain, etc.?

Posts: 171 | Location: Belton, Texas, USA | Registered: April 26, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I don't know. There isn't a provision for that in the statute.

What would that do to liability? My feeling is that, if Commissioner WeakSpine OKs a burn and it gets away, I can probably get the county out of the lawsuit because we instituted the ban, and no one commissioner can bind the court. Unfortunately, that may make the commissioner liable, but the county is my client, not him.

Lisa L. Peterson
Nolan County Attorney

Posts: 736 | Location: Sweetwater TX | Registered: January 30, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post