TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Probation Bills Update
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Probation Bills Update Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
I don't know. I guess I'm just a little concerned about my wife and kids driving on the public roadway when all of Felony DWI probationers get automatically discharged from probation due to this retroactive 5 year cap (in reality just 2 1/2 years for new probationers). Call me cynical but I just don't think that folks on their 3rd (or more) DWI are likely to change their behavior unless they are strictly supervised and have the potential for a very real punitive consequence for recidivism. But then again, I'm probably out of the mainstream because, as a firefighter, I've had to cut way too many fatalities out of cars due to the conduct of these types of offenders. But you're right, it does provide me more unneeded job security in my day job.

Posts: 293 | Registered: April 03, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I keep thinking of those 10 year deffered sentances I gave out on cases I could not win hoping and praying that the probationer would violate and my victims would see justice.

Posts: 37 | Registered: February 24, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Off Topic: Thank you for your service as a firefighter. I thought about sending you an email, but I decided a public appreciation was more appropriate. So, Although you sound frustrated, let me step out here and say thank you for your public service. I admire you for it.

On Topic: My Senator's office declared he was voting against it. Has yours?

Posts: 764 | Location: Dallas, Texas | Registered: November 04, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Philip, my 13 year old daughter (who thinks she's going on 25) deplores the fact that her dad is a prosecutor AND a firefighter. She thinks it makes me overprotective. She's probably right!!! Smile