Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Prosecution Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
Yes, the workload is what it is rumored to be. However, I was able to work part time after my first semester of law school, and full time during the summers. I was never so happy as when I didn't fill out a financial aid form my last year. (Mind you, I had a working wife.) Still, if you live cautiously, drive a paid-for used car and work part time, you can come out of law school without crushing debt. Oh, and I loved when I paid it all off one day. Go to a state school, work during, and keep up with the reading. And don't lose perspective. Keep an outlet for relaxation, be it, social life, the gym, or whatever. Ride a bike as fast as you can. Surf. Do whatever it takes, but don't lose yourself in law school or you will be miserable.

Posts: 374 | Location: Houston, TX | Registered: July 25, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I graduated from Texas Tech School of Law and received an excellent legal education. Not to mention, cost of living in Lubbock is so much lower than in Houston or Austin. I went to law school in my early 40s. I found the first year harder. However, if you are a good reader (that means relatively fast with good comprehension) and are disciplined about your use of time, you should be able to work at least part time and do well in your law classes. Take summer school so you can take a lighter load during your second and third year which will help you handled the double load of work and school. Good luck,

Janette A

Posts: 674 | Location: Austin, Texas, United States | Registered: March 28, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post