TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Question -- using the word rape or rapist??
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question -- using the word rape or rapist?? Login/Join 
posted
I'm a law student with a Mock trial coming up.

I'm the prosecutor in an agg sexual assault, and the defense has asked the judge that we not use the word "rape" or "rapist" the entire trial.

For some reason I can't find anything other than saying that it's not prejudicial.

Thanks,

Mike

Posts: 1 | Location: San Antonio | Registered: November 17, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Assuming that your victim is female, the "rapist" is male, and that the use of the word "rape" describes a plain old fashioned sexual assault, how about:

"The perpetrator of the unwanted, violent, vaginal invasion by penis" for the rapist, and

"the criminal, violent, demeaning, humiliating, forceful taking of the victim's privacy, self respect, dignity and humanity by the most foul act of physically forcing the victim to be penetrated by his penis against her will and without her permission or consent, and therby placing her in fear of her very life through the high probability of exposure to any of many sexually transmitted diseases" for rape.

Perhaps, when faced with so many more forceful words, the "judge" will allow you to use plain old fashioned "rape" and "rapist", if only to make the "trial" a bit shorter.

Posts: 47 | Location: Dumas, Tx | Registered: March 08, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I actually laughed out loud at that last post. I had a motion from the defense in an actual child sexual assault case to not use the word "victim" to refer to my victim. My case pled to pen time, but next time I think I may use your proposal. I would love to see the look on my judge's face. Priceless. Are they teaching these motions at some TCDLA conference or something?