TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    False Sense of Security Anyone?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

False Sense of Security Anyone? Login/Join 
posted
I considered myself to be fairly cautious in the management of my personal information. I taught classes on ID-Theft, burned/shredded papers, and preached the same to others. This post is for everyone out there that may have some sense of false security in their personal information and what can be obtained from a few keystrokes on the internet. Take a moment to educate yourself on a real concern with far-reaching hazards for all of us.

As a peace officer I wanted to take advantage of the local appraisal district's confidentiality form to keep my name off the roll search in their website. Makes sense, right? It sounded great until a fellow peace officer told me to sign up at Publicdata.com to allay any sense of security I had in my personal information. I understand Publicdata.com is one of many websites that provide information to anyone with a credit card willing to pay about $10.00 per month. Here is one way business by any villain can be done using Publicdata.com:

1. I see you driving down the road in a car with a Texas license plate. I note the license plate number and run it in Publicdata.com to find the registered owner's name and address; and all vehicles with their respective registration information registered to that address.

2. Now that I have the registered owner's information and address, I search the driver's license section in the same website to find the registered owner's driver's license number which includes the license number, licensee address, date of birth, and a link to all other persons who also have driver's licenses with your address.