TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Advice for a new attorney?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Advice for a new attorney? Login/Join 
posted
First of all, let me acknowledge that I'm not certain that this particular forum is the appropriate place for my question. If it belongs elsewhere, please move it to the correct forum with my apologies.

I know that this is not the first time a new attorney such as myself has sought advice on this board, and I have searched for and read those previous threads with great interest.

I am a recent graduate (May 2007) of Indiana University School of Law--Bloomington who has just returned to the city I call home, Austin (my point being that I did not attend a Texas law school).

I received my license in November. When I left for law school, I did so with the intent to work in the criminal field. That desire has not changed. To that end, I am seeking employment in either a city, county, or state prosecutor's office.

Right off, I know that I'm in the wrong city for someone just starting off. For the time being I will continue to focus on Austin, Travis, and the surrounding towns and counties, for the simple reason that my significant other is happy with their new career here and I'm not ready to disrupt that at this point.

My question is this: Is there anything that I could be actively doing that might better express my abilities and my great desire to work in the field, rather than simply applying for those advertised positions as they come up? Is looking in Travis/Austin a lost cause for someone just out of school who didn't attend UT? Are entry-level positions truly filled through the application process, or is there something I'm missing?

I feel a bit overwhelmed at the moment, and I'm worried that my lack of knowledge and access to resources in regards to the system of hiring in Texas has put me at a great disadvantage.