TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Civil    Responsibilities of County Attorney
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Responsibilities of County Attorney Login/Join 
posted
I am a newly elected County Attorney in a small county. I am the only attorney in the office. I am having trouble with the county judge and individual commissioners asking me to do things that I believe are outside the scope of my duties. Until now I have done a few things that they have requested in order to cultivate some goodwill. I have been struggling to find a way to clearly explain to them the duties of my job without completely alienating them. I am not overly concerned about the political aspects. My main concern is the legality of any actions that I may take or advice that I provide. I only want to do the work for the Court that I am required to by law. Otherwise, I get nothing done and set myself up for trouble. I know this is a broad request but, any help I could get on laying down the ground rules to the Court would be greatly appreciated.

Posts: 106 | Location: Uvalde, Texas | Registered: May 15, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
You should probably go to the TDCAA Criminal and Civil in the Fall at South Padre Island. Civil Committee will have more than a day of information and you can get the answer to your question from a variety of sources. Various offices have differing statutes that govern the extent of the CDA or County Attorney duties. For example, since our boss has a duty to represent the County we are proactive and provide lots of advice. In a county that has no specific greater duty you may need only respond to requests for advice with a written opinion, like the AG. I think there is more to the job than that. However, the limitation of this form of communication becomes apparent, since I cannot tell what advice you are uncomfortable in giving Commissioners Court. cool