TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Civil    Chapter 59 Forfeitures
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Chapter 59 Forfeitures Login/Join 
posted
I have been asked to update a memo that was written in 1991 by a prior DA. I have no experience in forfeiting real estate. The 1991 memo stated:

"Under the current status of the law, it is virtually impossible to forfeit real estate. Due to a quirk in the law, we have to be able to prove that the realty was purchased with the proceeds of crime (drug money, for instance) or that, at the time the property was purchased, the owner intended to use it for some criminal activity. Simply, selling drugs out of a particular location is not enough."

Is that statement from 1991 still true today or has the "quirk in the law" been corrected?

Posts: 66 | Location: New Braunfels, Texas, USA | Registered: October 04, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I think the author of that 1991 memo incorrectly read Chapter 59 or the law has changed since then. I happened to be doing some research on the forfeiture of real property which I ran across your post. The cases repeat the language of CCP art. 59.01(2)(B) ("Contraband means propery of any nature, including real, personal, tangible, or intangible, that is: used or intended to be used in the commission of: any felony under Chapter 481, Health and Safety Code; any felony under Chapter 483, Health and Safety Code;" and a bunch of other offenses such as offenses under Chapter 152 and 153 of the Finance Code. None of the cases I read said anything about the property having to be acquired with drug proceeds or having to be purchased for illicit purposes. (See Bochas v. State, 951 S.W.2d 64 (Tex. App.- Corpus Christi 1997); Lot 39, Section C, Northern Hills Subdivision v. State, 85 S.W.3d 429 (Tex. App. - Eastland 2002), pet. ref'd sub nom Helm v. State; Ruiz v. State, 1998 Tex. App. LEXIS 2703 (Tex. App.-Corpus Christi May 7, 1998)).