TDCAA Community
PIA request from ratemycop.com

This topic can be found at:
https://tdcaa.infopop.net/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/257098965/m/9091084951

January 23, 2008, 15:53
russwm
PIA request from ratemycop.com
Has anyone else received a public information request from ratemycop.com? They are requesting a list of names and employee ID numbers for all of the deputies who work for our S.O. The only thing I can find in AG opinions to help me is a couple in which the AG said the S.O. could withhold names of undercover officers. Otherwise, it seems like public information. Frankly, it is one of those requests that I just do not like.
January 31, 2008, 10:02
rhaesler
I'm an assistant city attorney in Burlington, Vermont and our police department just received similar request.
Have you found anything else beside the undercover exception? Similarly, it is a request we do not like.
February 04, 2008, 15:55
FOIA Lawyer
Well folks.. like it or not... not only are there local laws that provide for access to this information; but the Freedom of Information Act supports it. Of course, you can't give out cell phone numbers, home addresses, etc.; but an officer's name and badge number (i.e., info you can get if you see him/her) is public info.

Like it or not....it's the law. Those who are tasked with upholding and enforcing it shouldn't seek to avoid it because they "don't like it".

jl
February 05, 2008, 10:31
Jim Tirey
Obviously, we understand that these laws exist and what they require government to do. This thread seeks to find out what is necessary to comply with these laws and still offer protection to the peace officers who serve our society.