TDCAA Community
Career Questions...

This topic can be found at:
https://tdcaa.infopop.net/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/457098965/m/8601091271

July 25, 2008, 03:30
Coker
Career Questions...
Hello all.

As I prepare for the July, 08 bar exam, I am faced with some interesting career decisions. I have put myself through law school part-time while working full time. Yes, I am very aware a number of attorneys roll their eyes at this, however, my background is a bit unique in that I am a heavy duty computer geek and IT auditor. In other words, I rode the dot-com wave instead of completing my application to law school back in '97. Seattle U Law vs. Boeing Space & Defense...GI Bill only got me so far.

I have a reasonably successful consulting practice that pays pretty good money. But, I didn't go to law school simply to continue being a testifying expert or to tell large corporations what they need to do to properly protect their data.

My question is a bit career oriented. That is, should I continue to run my business and keep the bar card (crossing my fingers for the bar exam) as a really sweet way to save money on contract drafting and bill collecting, or should I start applying to law firms in order to gain legal experience? I can afford to take a pay cut for a couple of years, but I don't see the point if it won't pay off in the long run.

Finally, I have testified/consulted in criminal fraud cases (only fraud, I won't touch anything that deals with kids or anything else I couldn't tell my Mom about) for defendants. Does this kill any chance I may have at getting a job with a DA's office? How valuable is DA experience?

Just fishing for advice/recommendations.

TIA

Dave
September 03, 2008, 12:01
Reagan County Attorney
The wing walker's creed says "don't let go of what you have until you grab hold of something else."