TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Juvenile Law    Handling adults for crimes committed as juveniles
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Handling adults for crimes committed as juveniles Login/Join 
posted
I am not a prosecutor--I work for DPS--and my knowledge of juvenile law is sketchy at best. So I am posing this rather silly question to those of you are knowledgeable in juvenile law and procedure. Here is the scenario. X commits a serious felony at the age of 16, but is not implicated as a suspect until X is in his mid-20s. Can the police investigators ask for and get a DNA sample from X without involving his parents? What if Mom says 'no' while X says 'yes'? (I told you it was a silly question!)

I seems obvious that since X is legally an adult he can be handled as an adult for the purpose of the criminal investigation. The provisions in the Family Code come into play if X is charged with the offense. I know it has to be filed in juvenile court which will decide where X is to be detained (juvenile detention center or county jail) and then determine whether the case should be transferred to the appropriate criminal court or dismissed (since the juvenile court lost jurisdiction over X when he turned 18). However, it seems logical that for purposes of interrogation, taking statements, etc., those would be handled under the CCP, not the Family Code provisions. I appreciate any assistance from those of you who know this area of the law.

Janette Ansolabehere

Posts: 674 | Location: Austin, Texas, United States | Registered: March 28, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
If you're not a juvenile I don't think the juvenile confession provisions apply to you. See Griffin v. State, 765 S.W.2d 422, 427 (Tex.Crim.App.1989) (stating that Family Code applied because defendant was a juvenile when she made her statement); Dix & Dawson, 41 Texas Practice section 13.323. But see Ramos v. State