TDCAA Community
DWI??

This topic can be found at:
https://tdcaa.infopop.net/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/157098965/m/4537010116

August 02, 2013, 11:22
Lisa Peterson
DWI??
Facts...driver drives car into building. He has 10 cans of compressed air (for computer keyboards) and states he has been "huffing" it since mid-morning (at least 2 hours ago). He tells paramedics he's at an intersection he would have reasonably passed at least 10 minutes ago and shows signs of intoxication.

Can has warning which states "Misuse by deliberately concentrating and inhaling contents may be harmful or fatal."

Is this DWI? By what manner / means?

Lisa L. Peterson
Nolan County Attorney
August 02, 2013, 11:27
Forensicscientist
I suspect your intoxicant is 1,1-Difluoroethane.

Is subject impaired? Yes....

Is it a DWI? I will leave that to you legal experts for that conclusion....
August 02, 2013, 17:33
J Ansolabehere
Lisa, I'm not a prosecutor although I specialized in DWI law my first four years with DPS. The definition of intoxication is so broad ("or any other substance") that his loss of his faculties because he was "huffing" compressed air which contains a propellant that is dangerous when deliberately inhaled would qualify. I remember I had a judge once tell an ALR defendant who claimed he hadn't been drinking but was taking Nyquil for a cold that it didn't matter what the stuff was; if it caused him to lose the normal use of his mental and/or physical faculties,he was legally intoxicated.
August 05, 2013, 06:32
Lisa Peterson
Is the propellant a controlled substance or a dangerous drug?

Lisa L. Peterson
Nolan County Attorney
August 05, 2013, 09:18
J Ansolabehere
Wouldn't inhalation of this substance be a violation of Section 485.031, Health & Safety Code (Possession or Use) underChapter 485 (Abusable Volatile Chemicals)? The main ingredient of the aerosol your defendant inhaled certainally seems to meet the definition of abusable volatile chemical according to Forensic Scientist.