TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Arizona Vs. Gant
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Arizona Vs. Gant Login/Join 
posted
Hello. I am new to this community however wish to take part in some of your interesting discussions and learn things that can help me present better cases from the street. I am a city police officer in West Texas.

Recently I attended a training in legal survival and the instructor brought up a case that the USSC has granted cert on: Arizona VS. Gant. I don't know if anyone has heard of this case or not but it is a case that will re-visit the search incident to lawful arrest doctrine as provided by New York Vs. Belton. It is up to be heard in the fall.

The case discusses whether police officers will be able to search a vehicle after the arrestee has been secured with handcuffs, placed in the back of a patrol unit and no longer poses a threat to officers to reach for a weapon or destroy evidence.

Thanks everyone and have a great day.

Posts: 11 | Location: El Paso, TX | Registered: May 05, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I haven't read the cases you're talking about, but under your scenario wouldn't you have every right to do an inventory search of the car? Maybe I should read the case first.

Posts: 293 | Location: San Antonio | Registered: January 27, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I believe the Arizona case is dealing specifically with searches incident to arrest. For whatever reason, inventory searches aren't at issue there. The question is whether searching the area within reach incident to arrest is still legitimate when the suspect has been removed and can't reach anything.

Posts: 1116 | Location: Waxahachie | Registered: December 09, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
This case was initally sent back to Arizona courts. For details, read this link.

[This message was edited by JB on 05-05-08 at .]