TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Who prepares the jury trial docket?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Who prepares the jury trial docket? Login/Join 
posted
Whose job is it to prepare a list of cases that are ready for trial & serve that list on defense counsel? I've been doing it for over 4 years & I'm ready to pass the responsibility along to the appropriate party, whoever that is. We share a court coordinator with neighboring counties who refuses to do it, despite her job title. I pressed the issue before, but all that got me was a meeting with her & a district judge in which she offered to mail the docket out, as long as I kept preparing it. The judge said that sounded like a great idea.

Can anyone point me towards a statute or case law that says its ... I don't know ... maybe a COURT COORDINATOR's job to prepare the trial docket? Thanks.

Posts: 50 | Location: Jasper, TX, USA | Registered: July 30, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I don't think there is a statute that says the court coordinator is supposed to manage the docket specifically, however, the commissioners can probably reduce the coordinator's pay or remove the position entirely if it can be shown that the position is not needed.

� 74.102. Duties
(a) The courts by local administrative rule shall designate the duties of the court coordinators.
(b) To promote uniform and efficient administration of justice in this state, the court coordinators shall cooperate with regional presiding and local administrative judges and state agencies having duties in the area of the operation of the courts.

Tex. Gov't Code Ann. � 74.102 (Vernon)

There is no inherent authority for a court or a group of courts to create a position or designate a person to serve as court administrator or coordinator, whose duties are generally to control the judicial docket in an effort to achieve the efficient use of judicial resources.