TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Authorized fees collected as condition of probation
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Authorized fees collected as condition of probation Login/Join 
posted
I am a probation officer/supervisor for Hunt County CSCD. I found this site about a year ago and am glad I did, it's very informative as well as interesting and I periodically go to it, especially to read the posts. You all do a great job. I do have a question and hope it is not inappropriate here (this is the first time I have posted anything).

Our two District Courts seem to be under some pressure to allow appointed defense attorneys more freedom to hire private investigators at their (the defense attorney's)will. The District Judges (we have two) are contemplating adding the cost for this to an offender's terms of probation. Of course they already require the offender to reimburse for court appointed attorneys, court costs, etc. However, there is some question as to whether they can legally do this for investigator fees. It seems clear under 42.12 Sec. 11 (11) that reimbursement for appointed counsel is okay, fines and court costs (8), and other items. But (23)(b) of that section notes "may not order.... payments �..except for fines, court costs, restitution to the victim, and other conditions related personally to the rehabilitation���.or authorized by law". Does this wording prohibit, by exclusion, the Court's ability to require an offender placed on probation to reimburse the County for costs for private investigators?