TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Protective Sweep
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Protective Sweep Login/Join 
posted
I am a law enforcement officer operating within central Texas. I would like to find more information about "Protective Sweeps."

Example...Officer observes a subject with a felony warrant enter a residence. Same officer has personal knowledge that narcotics are also dealt out of this residence. Officer knocks at door, enters residence to secure felonious subject, and then conducts a "protective sweep" for other confederates in the residence. Upon doing this narcotics are located in plain view.

Can anyone provide me with current case law dealing with protective sweeps? From what I have read it seems that the term 'exigent circumstances' is often used, but never defined as to why it is 'exigent' for officer safety. These cases always seem to end with a suppresion. Thanks!

Posts: 5 | Location: City, Texas, County | Registered: June 07, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
As far as I know (and I just did some cursory research on it), this is still good law. There must be reasonable suspicion (specific, articulable facts) to believe that someone else is in the area to be swept who poses a danger to the officers during the time they are making an arrest. The sweep can only consist of a cursory inspection of places where people can be found and must be reasonable in duration - no longer than it takes to complete an arrest and leave.

Posts: 1089 | Location: UNT Dallas | Registered: June 29, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
"When conducting an in-home arrest, a police officer may sweep the house only if he possesses an objectively reasonable belief, based on specific and articulable facts, that a person in that area poses a danger to that police officer or to other people in the area.