TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Appellate    Same Brief - Different Client
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Same Brief - Different Client Login/Join 
posted
If a defense attorney consistently files the same brief for different clients, should I do something about it? If so... suggestions?

Posts: 69 | Location: Longview, Texas | Registered: November 08, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hmm... perhaps be thankful you don't have to reinvent the wheel for your response....

Posts: 218 | Location: Victoria, Texas | Registered: September 16, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
This is an issue I've struggled with, as a particular attorney I've had to deal with continued raising the exact same issue with the exact same briefing despite having received 20-something opinions telling him he was wrong.

Unfortunately, I don't think that there's much we can do. The courts -- both trial and appellate -- hold the power here. The trial judges can stop appointing attorneys who do this; the appellate judges can send a brief back for rebriefing, rip him in the opinion, or even refer things to the disciplinary board. But us? The only thing I've figured out to do is to put a footnote in every brief, pointing out that the exact issue has been raised by this attorney and rejected repeatedly. It puts the courts on notice of what's going on. After that, it's up to them.

[This message was edited by AndreaW on 08-11-08 at .]

Posts: 1116 | Location: Waxahachie | Registered: December 09, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Well, I love the fact that my brief is usually written before I even have to respond but an appellate ineffective assistance of counsel claim on habeas would be difficult to defeat...

Posts: 69 | Location: Longview, Texas | Registered: November 08, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post