TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Addressing faulty kidnap allegation
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Addressing faulty kidnap allegation Login/Join 
posted
Greetings all. I am new to the practice of law, and wondered if you might point me in the right direction with a problem I am addressing.
A year or so ago, a female client was abused by her husband. She left for a safe house, taking their young daughter. He filed kidnapping charges. Those charges, apparantly, are still showing up, as her application for assisted housing was denied because of them. I just got this case yesterday, so am not even sure if there is an arrest warrant out for her.
Now, I know the Tx Code of Crim Procedure has a way to expunge an arrest record, but I assume it doesn't apply as she has not been (nor particularly cares to be) arrested.
I would be grateful for any input and assistance.

Posts: 3 | Location: Dallas, TX | Registered: December 12, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
This user group is dedicated to open discussion by prosecutors of criminal law issues. It is not a place for legal advice to defendants or their attorneys. Sorry.

Posts: 7860 | Location: Georgetown, Texas | Registered: January 25, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
My apologies, I didn't mean to make an inappropriate post, or take advantage of this resource in a way that would offend.
My (very new) practice is entirely civil, with the occasional pro bono client such as this thrown into the mix.
I do have an interest in criminal law and have read this board since I moved to Dallas, and find it enlightening and thought-provoking.
Again, my apologies.

Posts: 3 | Location: Dallas, TX | Registered: December 12, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Administrator
posted Hide Post