Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

THP-51 question Login/Join 
<TCT AnCo>
posted
I just got a question from my local PD about the THP-51 form used for mandatory blood draws. You can see the form here: http://www.tdcaa.com/files/page/Revised%20THP-51%20Form%206%20_9-9-09_%20_2_.pdf
The next-to-last signature blank is to be filled with "Name of Person Form Delivered To". Directly below that signature blank is one for "Name and Occupation of Person Taking Specimen".

Are both of these blanks to be filled in with the same person's name? If not, then who signs the first one?

My feeling is that both blanks should have the same person's name, but perhaps that the officer fills in the first one before giving the form to the doctor/nurse/phlebotomist, and then that person signs the bottom line. Thoughts?

Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I would expect that the facility where the blood is drawn will determine one or two names.

In a prior life I worked as a paramedic. When arriving with a patient, we would give a verbal report to triage nurse, but all written reports, consents to treat, and other documentation would go to an administrative clerk. If you handed anything to a nurse, or worse a doctor, that would be the last time it was ever seen.

That was in a much larger jurisdiction than I am in now. Our local hospital, uninjured suspects are take to the "Lab" for the draws and not the ER. Only one person works there at a time so their name would go in both places. If they are injured and go to the ER, it might vary. Jails with nurses or a phlebotomist, I am sure have a variety of procedures to document the basis for the draw.

At least that's my thoughts!

[This message was edited by John Greenwood on 06-28-10 at .]

[This message was edited by John Greenwood on 06-28-10 at .]

Posts: 261 | Location: Lampasas, Texas, USA | Registered: November 29, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post