TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Stuff heard in testimony
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Stuff heard in testimony Login/Join 
posted
From a recent appellate opinion:

Q. And tell me why you did that. Why did you call for an ambulance?

A. Because she had just had the crap beat out of her and she needed immediate medical attention.

[Defense Counsel]: Objection, Your Honor. She testified she thought she needed medical attention, but "he beat the crap out of her" is speculation on her part. It's a characterization.

THE WITNESS: I used to be an EMT, so I do have medical training.

[Defense went on to complain that the officer was not an expert witness on beatings and should not be allowed to testify. Judge disagreed. Appellate explanation is provided below. Nicely written.]

In this case, Officer Fletcher testified that she responded to two separate disturbance calls at Maggie's residence. At the first call, Maggie told Officer Fletcher that James had assaulted her; she said that James had choked her, and she pointed out a small cut on her leg and a mark on one of her arms where she said James had grabbed her. Officer Fletcher observed that Maggie was "kind of shaking" and had been crying.

At the second call, before knocking on the front door, Officer Fletcher heard yelling, screaming, and "banging around" from inside Maggie's house. She testified that it sounded like someone or something was getting thrown around. When Maggie opened the front door, Officer Fletcher observed that Maggie looked different than she did at the first call--her face was covered in blood, her left eye was "completely bruised and swollen shut," she had blood coming out of her eye, and she had a cut on her swollen face. Maggie was also crying and very upset, and she told Officer Fletcher, "he did this to me." Officer Fletcher interpreted Maggie's statement to be in reference to James, who was the only other person there.