TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Theft of Firearm
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Theft of Firearm Login/Join 
posted
Without regard to the value of the property stolen 31.03(e)(4)(C) seems to make the unlawful appropriation of a firearm a state jail felony. But, that statute applies only to items so defined in 46.01 (3), which in turn specifically excludes firearms that are antiques or curios (maunufactured before 1899). If the stolen firearm was manufactured before 1899 and worth less than $1500, would you charge the theft offense solely on the basis of its value under e.g. 31.03(e)(3)? Older firearms could easily be worth more than newer ones (but still less than $1500) and some can be just as dangerous, so why did the legislature choose to incorporate the curio exception in defining theft of a firearm? Or did it?

Posts: 2386 | Registered: February 07, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
DISCLAIMER: I'm not a lawyer so all of this is just layman speculation. These old cases could be outdated. I might have misunderstood them and I might be quoting out of context.

The antique exception is an affirmative defense:
Jackson v. State 575 S.W.2d 567 Tex.Cr.App., 1979
Hayes v. State 560 S.W.2d 671 Tex.Cr.App. 1978

If this is still good law then it seems like your defendant would have to basically concede to the Class A theft in order to raise this defense and it would be his burden by preponderance.

Also, in Cantu v.State the San Antonio court (1990 pet ref'd) ruled that an antique shotgun did not qualify for this exception because it was crudely sawed off ... obviously not originally manufactured in this condition.

One more:
quote: