TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Gastric Bypass and BTs
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Gastric Bypass and BTs Login/Join 
posted
Today was the first time I heard this one -- the defendant had gastric bypass surgery, so it took much longer for the alcohol to make it through the much smaller stomach, thus skewing the BT results. Now, I suppose you could argue that this defendant's absorption and elimination rates are much slower, but to me that would seem to work a lot more in our favor than the defendant's, as we could show she would be affected by even a small amount of alcohol for a lot longer time than usual. So the BT would still be an accurate reflection of her BAC, surgery or no surgery. However, I'm far from an expert on the Intoxilyzer and was wondering if anyone else had ever encountered a similar issue.

Please take pity on a first-time poster. Wink

Andrea

Posts: 1116 | Location: Waxahachie | Registered: December 09, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I read in between the lines of your post a concern that you might be subjected to some sort of initiation by making your first post. Not at all. This is one big, happy family.

You do bring us the newest in excuses for failing a breath test. And for that, we thank you.

Posts: 7860 | Location: Georgetown, Texas | Registered: January 25, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
The intoxilyzer measures alcohol content in the breath as a part of your deep lung air. This has nothing to do with the stomach.