TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Art. 18.18 CCP -- HELP!
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Art. 18.18 CCP -- HELP! Login/Join 
posted
About 1 1/2 years ago, a man running an 8-liner shop pled guilty to misdemeanor gambling charge, got deferred for 1 year. The original judgment did not mention forfeiture of the machines, gift cards, and money seized during the raid. Now the guy is off deferred probation and wants his machines back. I had the judge who did the return of the search warrant issue a show-cause order under Art 18.18(b) since there was no "conviction." Is an Art. 18.18 forfeiture like Art 59 forfeiture, in that they are civil in nature? What rules apply? I know we have to show pc, then the burden shifts to the Defendant to show that the items are not contraband, but procedurally I am lost. I've never done one of these forfeitures before. HELP!

Posts: 22 | Location: Brenham, TX | Registered: October 06, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post