TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    Sua sponte discovery orders
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sua sponte discovery orders Login/Join 
posted
During the previous DA adminstration prior to me taking office on January 1 this year, there was an agreed discovery order entered in every case.

When I took office I asked the judge not to enter this order because I felt the order was too costly to the office in manpower and paper costs as well as to the district clerk's office.

The court recently sua sponte entered approximately 49 of these discovery orders w/o notice or hearing and when only two motions for discovery were pending in two cases. I'm familiar w/ the case law regarding this.

Anybody have any suggestions? Electeds do you think this is worth mandamusing the judge over?

Posts: 1 | Location: Crockett, Texas, USA | Registered: April 15, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm just a layman but I would think hard about making a stink. You and your staff gotta deal with this judge and his friends. The effectivness of your office depends in part on the relationships with probabtion, clerks, bailiffs, etc...

Maybe have a talk with the judge and explain your reasons... how you think it will improve things. More important get the judge to tell you his/her point of view and make sure to LISTEN, not just hear.

The old DA might have been friends with this judge... depending on how you came into office... you might have some work to do to get them to take a shine to you.

Posts: 689 | Registered: March 01, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Most judges that I've dealt with routinely enter such orders. Some orders are more demanding than others, but most times full compliance with the order is required, as a practical matter, only in those cases that are actually going to trial.