TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Criminal    iPhone or Android?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

iPhone or Android? Login/Join 
posted
Help me out - I am not tech savvy and get real confused. I have an ancient iPhone, and it will soon die. From a user friendly standpoint, are the androids better?

From a security standpoint (and I DO need security on the border), is there a difference between android and iPhone in hacking ability? I know Apple tracks an iPhone, even when not being used. Not too scary, but don't necessarily want certain people to figure out where I live. And I use my personal cell for all my State business (at my expense), so I want to keep all that safe.

And while we are at it - carriers? Recs on those?

All you younger, smarter (and probably prettier) people out there - help!

Thanks!

Posts: 218 | Location: The Border | Registered: April 08, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
...on which technology company you've given your life over to. I have an Android phone for both my work and personal use. A Motorola Droid for work, a Samsung Captivate for personal. I couldn't be happier with the Android user experience. But, I've given my digital life over to Google, so everything seamlessly integrates. If you're an Apple person (or became one after buying the Iphone) then you may experience some switching pains.

I guess some of the question is- what are you using it for? If it's just for routine reading personal and office emails, and the occasional text, then I doubt you'll notice much of a difference after the first week or so.

In terms of security, there's no discernible difference in the "keep my person safe" category. The tracking issues are largely overblown as it would effect an end user.