TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Civil    Notice of Sale
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Notice of Sale Login/Join 
posted
I'm searching for a copy of a Notice for Sale of public land in a paper. Looking to sell an abandoned road way to adjacent owners, but still have to publish notice as per 263.001 Local Government Code.

Posts: 7 | Location: Rio Grande City, Texas | Registered: April 14, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Well, I'm not an expert, but since no one else has responded......

It was my understanding that if a county road was abandoned/discontinued/etc. (by the county),
the land on each side of the road up to the center line reverts back to the landowners. I've never heard of SELLING a county road back to the people who already owned it.

LISA, can you confirm?

Posts: 244 | Registered: November 02, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
My thought is that it depends on what type of estate the County has.

If the County has an easement by prescription because the County has maintained the road since some Commissioner first drug a mule powered grader over it in 1911, then closing/abandoning/vacvating the road terminates the County's estate, like the popping of a soap bubble. I always tell people that after that, the County has no stake in who owns the road, but we will gladly provide a District Courtroom in which the claimants may litigate the issue of ownership.

If, on the other hand, the County owns the road in fee simple, then interest must be sold when it is closed/vacated/abandoned (unless the County just wants to keep the roadway and use it to store dirt or something). The adjoining landowners are each offered 1/2 of the roadway, at the price set by an appraiser hired by the County. If they agree to buy at that price, you can sell without further fuss. If they do not, then you have to advertise the land for sale just like any other piece of real property the County owns.