TDCAA    TDCAA Community  Hop To Forum Categories  Appellate    Writ and time limit for filing
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Writ and time limit for filing Login/Join 
posted
Howdy all!

I'm a newb to the world of Texas law so if y'all see me say, or do, something grossly and profoundly stupid, please do let me know. In fact, if I say something even somewhat unintelligent, which I'm bound to do, let me know.

With that disclaimer out of the way, I shall now move on to my reason for posting: time limits on writs. Why doesn't Texas have codified time limits for the filing of 11.07 and 11.072 writs? We've got one for 11.071, and the Feds have theirs in 28 USCS sec. 2244, why not a time limit for 11.07 and 11.072 claims?

While I do know that the Court of Criminal Appeals has held in Carrio that the "doctrine of laches is a theory which we may, and should, employ in our determination of whether to grant relief in any given 11.07 case"; it still would be nice to have some sort of bright-line rule to prevent some of these completely frivolous applications that seem to make their way onto my desk ten plus years after conviction.

Posts: 34 | Location: Hunt County, TX | Registered: November 10, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Don't know the answer, but having worked in the AG's office on post-conviction writs before the DA office it certainly would be a good idea. Since the tolling of limitations on federal writs is based on the state's writs.

Posts: 419 | Location: Abilene, TX USA | Registered: December 16, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post